The Munros

A Walkhighlands Guide

Paul and Helen Webster

GBP 12.99

The Munros are mountains in Scotland with a height of over 3000ft and take their name from the first list of such hills published in 1891 by Victorian mountaineer Sir Hugh Munro, 4th Baronet of Lindertis. Revised several times in the years since, most recently in 2012, the official list now features 282 peaks.

This guide is for anyone who wants to climb these mountains and aims to provide reliable routes and tips for ascending them safely. The Munros will ensure you reach parts of Scotland you might otherwise overlook, spend memorable evenings in pubs, bothies and wild camps, and have encounters with other walkers, locals and wildlife that enhance the adventure regardless of whether you get to the top of one Munro or all of them.

672 pages / 105mm x 148mm / step inside the guide


Look beneath the waterproofs of any keen hillwalker in Scotland and, once past the midge bites, it’s likely you will find a Munro-bagger.

Even those who protest and mumble about it being ‘trainspotting for outdoor types’ often secretly know their Munro tally and are working towards the triumphant moment when they top out on that final summit.
This guide is for anyone who wants to climb the Munros. It aims to provide reliable routes and tips for ascending all of these magical 282 peaks. The other half of the deal is that you have to provide the energy and enthusiasm to make it as enjoyable and safe as possible. Setting out to climb all the Munros is to embark on a huge adventure. No two mountains are the same; weather conditions, companions – and the state of your squashed sandwiches and frozen Mars bars – make every outing different.

A’ Bhuidheanach Bheag, A’ Chailleach (Fannichs), A’ Chailleach (Monadhliath), A’ Chralaig, Ghlas-bheinn, A’ Mhaighdean, A’ Mharconaich, Am Basteir, Am Bodach, Am Faochagach, An Caisteal, An Coileachan, An Gearanach, An Riabhachan, An Sgarsoch, An Socach (Deeside), An Socach (Affric), An Socach (Mullardoch), An Stuc, An Teallach, Aonach air Chrith, Aonach Beag (Alder), Aonach Beag (Glen Nevis), Aonach Eagach, Aonach Meadhoin, Aonach Mor, Beinn Achaladair, Beinn nan Aighenan, Ben Alder, Beinn Alligin, Ben Avon, Beinn a’ Bheithir, Beinn Bheoil, Beinn Bhreac, Beinn Bhrotain, Ben Bhuidhe, Beinn a’Bhuird, Beinn Chabhair, Ben Challum, Beinn a’ Chaorainn (Deeside), Beinn a’ Chaorainn (Glen Spean), Beinn a’Chlachair, Beinn a’Chleibh, Beinn a’Chochuill, Ben Chonzie, Beinn a’Chreachain, Beinn a’Chroin, Ben Cruachan, Beinn Dearg (Glen Tilt), Beinn Dearg (Ullapool), Beinn Dorain, Beinn an Dothaidh, Beinn Dubhchraig, Beinn Eibhinn, Beinn Eighe, Beinn Eunaich, Beinn Fhada (Ben Attow), Beinn Fhionnlaidh (Glen Affric), Beinn Fhionnlaidh (Glen Creran), Beinn Ghlas, Beinn a’Ghlo, Beinn Heasgarnich, Ben Hope, Beinn Ime, Beinn Iutharn Mhor, Ben Klibreck, Beinn na Lap, Ben Lawers, Beinn Liath Mhor, Beinn Liath Mhor Fannaich, Ben Lomond, Ben Lui (Beinn Laoigh), Ben Macdui, Beinn Mhanach, Beinn Mheadhoin, Ben More (Crianlarich), Ben More (Mull), Ben More Assynt, Beinn Narnain, Ben Nevis, Ben Oss, Beinn Sgritheall, Beinn Sgulaird, Ben Starav, Beinn Tarsuinn, Beinn Teallach, Beinn Tulaichean, Beinn Udlamain, Ben Vane, Ben Vorlich (Loch Lomond), Ben Vorlich (Loch Earn), Ben Wyvis, Bidean nam Bian, Bidein a’ Choire Sheasgaich, Bidein a’ Ghlas Thuill (An Teallach), Binnein Beag, Binnein Mor, Bla Bheinn, Braeriach, Braigh Coire Chruinn-bhalgain , (Beinn a’Ghlo), Broad Cairn, Brothers’ Ridge, The, Bruach na Frithe, Buachaille Etive Beag, Buachaille Etive Mor, Bynack More, Cairn Bannoch, Cairn of Claise, Cairn Gorm, Cairn Toul, Cairnwell, The, Carn Aosda, Carn Bhac, Carn na Caim, Carn a’Chlamain, Carn a’Choire Bhoidheach, Carn Dearg (Alder), Carn Dearg (Monadhliath), Carn Dearg (Loch Ossian), Carn Eige, Carn an Fhidhleir, Carn nan Gabhar (Beinn a’Ghlo), Carn a’Gheoidh, Carn Ghluasaid, Carn nan Gobhar (Mullardoch), Carn nan Gobhar (Strathfarrar), Carn Gorm, Carn Liath (Beinn a’Ghlo), Carn Liath (Loch Laggan), Carn Mairg, Carn a’Mhaim, Carn Mor Dearg, Carn an Righ, Carn an t-Sagairt Mor, Carn Sgulain, Carn an Tuirc, Chno Dearg, Ciste Dhubh, Cona’ Mheall, Conival, Creag nan Damh, Creag Leacach, Creag Meagaidh, Creag a’Mhaim, Creag Mhor, Creag Pitridh, Creise, Cruach Ardrain, Derry Cairngorm, Devil’s Point, The, Driesh, Druim Shionnach, Eididh nan Clach Geala, Fionn Bheinn, Fisherfield Round, The, Five Sisters of Kintail, The, Gairich, Garbh Chioch Mhor, Geal Charn (Drumochter), Geal-Charn (Alder), Geal Charn (Monadhliath), Geal Charn (Loch Laggan), Glas Bheinn Mhor, Glas Maol, Glas Tulaichean, Gleouraich, Grey Corries, The, Gulvain, Inaccessible Pinnacle, Ladhar Bheinn, Liathach, Lochnagar, Luinne Bheinn, Lurg Mhor, Mam Sodhail, Maoile Lunndaidh, Maol Chean-dearg (Torridon), Maol Chinn-dearg (Glen Shiel), Mayar, Meall nan Aighean, Meall a’Bhuiridh, Meall Buidhe (Glen Lyon), Meall Buidhe (Knoydart), Meall nan Ceapraichean, Meall a’Choire Leith, Meall a’Chrasgaidh, Meall Chuaich, Meall Corranaich, Meall Dearg (Aonach Eagach), Meall nan Eun, Meall Garbh (Glen Lyon), Meall Garbh (Lawers), Meall Ghaordaidh, Meall Glas, Meall Gorm, Meall Greigh, Meall nan Tarmachan, Meall na Teanga, Monadh Mor, Moruisg, Mount Keen, Mullach Clach a’Bhlair, Mullach Coire Mhic Fhearchair, Mullach nan Coirean, Mullach na Dheiragain, Mullach Fraoch-choire, Mullach an Rathain (Liathach), Mullardoch Munros, The, Na Gruagaichean, Ring of Steall, Ruadh Stac Mor (Fisherfield), Ruadh-stac Mor (Beinn Eighe), Saddle, The, Sail Chaorainn, Saileag, Schiehallion, Seana Bhraigh, Sgairneach Mhor, Sgiath Chuil, Sgor Gaibhre, Sgor Gaoith, Sgor na h-Ulaidh, Sgorr Dhearg (Beinn a’Bheithir), Sgorr Dhonuill (Beinn a’Bheithir), Sgorr nam Fiannaidh (Aonach Eagach), Sgor an Lochain Uaine, Sgorr Ruadh, Sgurr Alasdair, Sgurr Ban, Sgurr na Banachdich, Sgurr a’Bhealaich Dheirg, Sgurr Breac, Sgurr na Carnach, Sgurr nan Ceathreamhnan, Sgurr a’ Chaorachain, Sgurr Choinnich, Sgurr Choinnich Mor, Sgurr a’Choire Ghlais, Sgurr na Ciche, Sgurr na Ciste Duibhe, Sgurr nan Clach Geala, Sgurr nan Coireachan (Glen Finnan) , Sgurr nan Coireachan (Glen Dessary) , Sgurr nan Conbhairean, Sgurr an Doire Leathain, Sgurr Dubh Mor, Sgurr nan Each, Sgurr nan Eag, Sgurr Eilde Mor, Sgurr Fhuaran, Sgurr Fhuar-thuill, Sgurr Fiona (An Teallach), Sgurr a’Ghreadaidh, Sgurr nan Gillean, Sgurr na Lapaich, Sgurr an Lochain, Sgurr a’Mhadaidh, Sgurr a’ Mhaim, Sgurr a’ Mhaoraich, Sgurr Mhic Choinnich, Sgurr Mhor (Beinn Alligin), Sgurr Mor (Glen Dessary), Sgurr Mor (Fannichs), Sgurr na Ruaidhe, Sgurr na Sgine, Sgurr Thuilm, Slioch, South Glen Shiel Ridge, The, Spidean a’ Choire Leith (Liathach), Spidean Coire nan Clach , (Beinn Eighe), Spidean Mialach, Sron a’ Choire Ghairbh, Stob Ban (Grey Corries), Stob Ban (Glen Nevis), Stob Binnein, Stob na Broige (Buachaille Etive Mor), Stob Coir’an Albannaich, Stob Coire a’Chairn, Stob Choire Claurigh, Stob Coire Easain, Stob Coire an Laoigh, Stob a’Choire Mheadhoin, Stob a’Choire Odhair, Stob Coire Raineach , (Buachaille Etive Beag), Stob Coire Sgreamhach, Stob Coire Sgriodain, Stob Dearg (Buachaille Etive Mor), Stob Diamh, Stob Dubh (Buachaille Etive Beag), Stob Ghabhar, Stob Poite Coire Ardair, Strathfarrar Four, The, Stuc a’Chroin, Stuchd an Lochain, Toll Creagach, Tolmount, Tom Buidhe, Tom a’Choinich, Tom na Gruagaich (Beinn Alligin)