The Outer Hebrides

40 Coast and Country Walks

Paul and Helen Webster

GBP 6.99

The Outer Hebrides are a place apart, an island chain stretching almost 200km from the Butt of Lewis to Barra Head with some of Britain’s most mesmerising beaches, dramatic mountain ranges, wonderful wildlife, a long and fascinating history and a rich and vibrant Gaelic culture.

This book features 40 mostly moderate walks, with many ideal for families, which take in magnificent sweeps of sand, soaring sea cliffs and memorable hill ascents, as well as celebrated cultural sights such as the haunting Standing Stones at Callanish and the blackhouse village of Na Gearrannan.

96 pages / 105mm x 148mm / step inside the guide


The Outer Hebrides

Although the Outer Hebrides are officially part of Britain, they truly seem a place apart. Known to locals as the Western Isles, this great island chain is situated on the outermost edge of Europe and possesses the UK’s finest beaches, wild mountain ranges, varied wildlife, a long and rich history, and unique Gaelic culture. The full chain of islands stretches almost 200km from the Butt of Lewis to Barra Head, and lies some 60 to 90km west of the Scottish mainland, with a population of around 30,000, nearly 6000 of whom live in Stornoway, the capital of Lewis. Featuring 40 mostly moderate walking routes from Lewis in the north to Vatersay in the south, this guide takes in some of the most magnificent sweeps of sand, dramatic sea cliffs and hill ascents, as well as famous cultural sights such as the Standing Stones of Callanish and the blackhouse village of Na Gearrannan. Routes are divided into five sections, each of which is introduced by a summary giving a flavour of the island and a map to locate the start points of the walks.

Acairseid Mhor, Aird a’Mhorain, Am Baile, An Cliseam (Clisham), Balranald RSPB Reserve, Barpa Langass, Barra, Beinn Langais, Benbecula, Berneray, Boraraigh (Boreray), Borgh (Borve), Bornais, Bostadh Iron Age House, Bragar, Burabhal (Burrival), Butt of Lewis, Callanish Standing Stones, Castlebay, Ceapabhal, Clachan Sands, Cladh Hallan Roundhouses, Crabhadail, Dun Ban, Dun Carloway Broch, Eagle Observatory, Eaval, Eoligarry, Eoropie Dunes, Eriskay, Filiscleitir Chapel, Flodaigh, Gleann Mhiabhaig, Great Bernera, Grenitote, Halaman Bay, Harris, Harris Walkway, Heaval, Howmore, Huisinis (Husinish), Hut of the Shadows, Lewis, Lews Castle, Loch Druidibeg, Loch Tangasdail, Lochmaddy, Losgaintir (Luskentyre), Luskentyre Sands, Macleod’s Stone, Na Gearrannan, Ness (Nis), North Uist, Orasaigh (Barra), Pairc, Reinigeadal (Rhenigidale), Renish Point, Roghadal (Rodel), Rubha Aird a’Mhuile, Rueval, Scaladal, Seilebost, Sgiogarstaigh (Skigersta), South Uist, Sron Uladal (Sron Ulladale), Stiomrabhaigh, Stornoway, Tarbert, Tolsta Head, Traigh Hornais, Traigh Iar (Harris), Traigh Iar (North Uist), Traigh Lingeigh, Traigh Mhor (Barra), Traigh Mhor (Lewis), Vallay, Vatersay